Caboverdean families in Galiza. Developmental impact of transnationalization of care and remittances

Principal researcher: Luzia Oca

External principal researcher: Antía Pérez Caramés (Universidade da Coruña)

Research group: Governance, Policies and Livelihoods


Gender | Migration | Care | Remittances

Funding Institution

Xunta de Galiza (Cooperación Galega)


Universidade da Coruña (coord.); Socioloxía das Migracións - ESOMI; Universidade de Vigo; Universidade de Trás-os-Montes e Alto Douro; Asociación AGARESO



Start date


End date



PR 815A 2021/10


FAMCABOGA is the acronym of the development cooperation research project entitled "Cape Verdean families in Galicia. Development impact of the transnationalization of care and remittances", funded under the Galician Cooperation development research call. The main objective of the study is the analysis of care transfers and remittances in Cape Verdean families settled in Galicia since 1978 and their role in promoting the well-being and improving the living conditions of families in the country of origin. The idea is to link transnational behavior with development processes from a gender perspective, with a central focus on caregiving.

The research will be applied to the production of audiovisual materials, which make visible and value the role of migrant women in survival and well-being on both sides of the migration stream. These materials will focus on several cases, representative of four generations of Cape Verdean migrant women, both in Burela (Galicia) and on the island of origin, Santiago.

The project is carried out under the format of a grouping of entities, between a multidisciplinary academic team from two Galician universities (the University of La Coruña and the University of Vigo), the University of Tras-os-Montes and Alto Douro (UTAD) in Portugal and the Development Cooperation NGO Galician Association of Communication for Social Change (AGARESO).


Antía Pérez Caramés (UDC)

Belén Fernández Suárez (ESOMI)

Iria Vázquez Silva (UVigo)

Keina Espiñeira González (ESOMI)

Sonia Díaz (AGARESO)

Óscar Vázquez (AGARESO)